A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Bingley Chimneys

A sunny morning saw us in Bingley for the Community Choir and then I made a return visit before lunch to collect a parcel and my train tickets for next week.

I took this from above the station across the railway and canal as I headed for the shops. I liked the sky in particular but the chimneys alongside the canal show a hint of Bingley’s industrial past.
The Damart chimney, semi hidden in the trees at the left hand side, is very distinctive with the letters spelled out vertically down the front. The thermalware factory is still there - I spent one summer holiday working there when I was a student preparing catalogues for posting. It was piece work and nearly killed me! The first day I was the last one there at then end of the day; after that I speeded up forgoing any breaks and managed to leave at the same time as everyone else and then went straight to bed when I got home. I got £11 a week! Luckily we soon moved on to an address labelling machine which wasn’t piece work and much less stressful.
I remember some of the other students were French, visiting from the family who owned the company. They went into town in search of Yorkshire Pudding one lunchtime and came back unimpressed!

Sadly Bingley doesn’t have the shops it used to have. The old centre had a good stationers. I searched three shops for a decent ring binder without luck. Is this why we shop on line?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.