Angels

I was so proud of my class today. They delivered a beautiful assembly commemorating the 24th anniversary of the Great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake. I was not the only member of the audience moved to tears. I was particularly proud of them because six members of the class were off sick - two of them from just this morning - so several pupils had to step in at the last minute to deliver their absent classmates' lines.

It is moments like this that make all the hard work of teaching so worthwhile.

This song, which was sung at the assembly, was written by Makoto Usui, a Music Teacher, in memory of the victims of the Great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake. It is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard, and never fails to bring tears to my eyes.

Shiawase hakoberu youni.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.