Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

THE LONG ROAD

It's a long and a dusty road, a hot and a heavy load

The folks I meet ain't always kind

Some are bad, some are good

Some have done the best they could

Some have tried to ease my troublin' mind...

I'm struggling with the deafening silence from some folks (not you, darling blippers) given what I am going through.  It's that feeling when you go back to work after your parent dies and some folk just look the other way.  Only this time, there are no cards, no flowers, no funeral. I feel I am just expected to get on with life - and I do - but it is hard. 

My spirits lifted with the sunny weather and lunch out with the wonderful Prof.  Later, tho, we had dinner with a friend who when told the news, brushed over it and asked where we were going on holiday. 

Things that keep me going:

Our wonderful grandchildren - they understand and are very loving towards me - obviously we haven't told the youngest one.
The Prof - of course
Pottering around in my attic studio.  I produce nothing, but I don't care
Chocolate - although it is no way to get rid of that post Christmas bulge
Tidying - kitchen cupboards are something I can control, and that feels good. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.