Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Gizmo

Today I have been wearing this little gizmo :-) It is a 24-hour Blood Pressure Monitoring Device. Every 30 minutes it begins to purr, throttles my left arm and makes little squeaking noises for a few seconds, and then it goes back to sleep. It reminds me very much of my pet pussycat, Google.

She would jump into my lap and dig her claws mercilessly into my thighs leaving me with only two possible options;
 - either grab her round her middle and hurl her off, which could easily result in horrific claw-wounds to my thighs
 - or stroke her head nicely, make her feel loved, and wait until she felt safe and secure enough to chill out, retracting her claws.

What random lessons in diplomacy we pick up on when observing animal behaviours.

The velcro fastener on the gizmo's belt pouch was detached when I received the kit, which is why there is also a short length of blue string included in the shot - its purpose is to retain the gizmo in its belt-pouch even when I ride my bicycle over a road bump. The gizmo needs to be removed from its insecure pouch only when I must shut it down, or reawaken it. The rules state that it must be shut down whenever the wearer is driving a car, riding a bicycle, or in any equivalent situation where a sudden throttling of their left arm might possibly cause distraction in circumstances when attention to personal danger should take precedence.

I might take the time to fix the velcro on the pouch before returning the gizmo to my beloved NHS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.