Burns Supper

I was invited to my friend's bi-annual Burns Supper up at their house. It is always a wonderful night. 
Much as I love receiving the invite in the New Year it also gives me a small sense of dread. The first year I was invited they had placed a Burns Poem under our table mat and we all had to read. This was a short lived anxiety for me. However every year after that we have been told to bring our own 'turn'. In the first few years it was easy to google Burns night turns but the ideas are running thin. In the past we have had guests doing all sorts of amazing turns. A Sword Dance, playing the recorder, singing, playing the bagpipes, jokes and poem recitals. They are all a very talented bunch. So this year I decided to do a magic trick!!
Never having done magic before I needed to call on the talents of my daughter. I think I managed to pull it off. Later there was the bi-annual Scottish Quiz which I won - well at least my team won - I contributed very little!!
A great night. I think I'll start thinking about what to perform for two years time.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.