this lovely life

By kellyrenee

My piece of sky

This is what I see every day when I pull into the driveway. I shut off the car and usually look right at this tree for a second or so before gathering my things. It's a pretty tree. Sometimes my neighbor has it cut way, way back and it makes me sad because it's just a little knobby thing, but then it grows big and strong again, and sometimes it's filled with layers and layers of leaves. It makes a wonderful sound in the wind when it's at its fullest, and in the fall it drops big brown leaves onto our roses, which are beneath it in the backyard (and I don't take very good care of those roses, by the way, but they just keep on blooming, year after year - the gardeners clip them back every so often and I guess that's all it takes?).

Anyway, I like this big old tree and I hope our dear neighbor never sees fit to take it out. I'd be spectacularly saddened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.