Stamps...We Got Stamps

We have company for a few days from Michigan, so this morning at 10 a.m., we set off for the Sarasota Stamp Show. Imagine the excitement in the car as we drove the 12-15 miles to the show. It was palpable.

Some serious collectors visit this show, pouring through the offerings of the vendors. Me? Not so serious. I search for stamps that I recognized from my time at the post office, and I searched for stamps that were 25 per cent off the original face value. We bought 40 bucks worth of stamps, and a few first day covers.

I was upstairs taking the whole-show shots, when a "stamp guy" starting hitting on our ladies. With my super hearing...I could hear the conversation. The guy thought he was a comedian.

"What did the stamp say to the envelope?"

"What?"

"Two answers to this one ladies." 1. "Stick with me, and we'll go places." 2. "I've really become attached to you." "HA, HA, HA!"

I didn't feel threatened, so I didn't head down. The guy continued.

"Did you hear that the Post Office just recalled their latest stamps? They had pictures of lawyers on them, and people couldn't figure out which side to spit on."

With that...I headed down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.