Mono Monday - Tension

It was warmer overnight and when I looked out of the window this morning I was pleased to see that all the snow had melted.

Went to Fitness Class as usual this afternoon.  Linda wasn't there - she was resting at home.

Then this evening it was Slimming Club.  Taster night went well - lots of syn free food to enjoy.  I gained one pound this week.  Wasn't surprised as I did far too much sitting around at home last week due to the inclement weather.  Hopefully this coming week I will get out more.

Mono Monday has the optional theme of  TENSION. It took me a while to think of something to blip.  Then I thought of  tension in connection with knitting.

What is tension? Tension for knitting is the number of stitches and rows that an average knitter will achieve to a given unit of measurements, using specific yarn, pattern and needles. It is used to translate measurements into number of stitches and rows to be worked.  As a guide, yarn manufactures usually recommend a standard tension for each quality they produce. Their recommendations are based on best result achieved from test samples as to texture of fabric in terms of density (not too loose or too tight) and feel (not too floppy or too firm)  Practically every knitting instruction will state a tension at which specific items were worked out, except items like toys, where the finished size is of not such importance.

To illustrate the theme I have included in my shot some wool and knitting needles together with a knitting pattern - and the dress I knitted using the pattern. I knitted the dress in 1983 for Becky when she was around a year old. I knew I had kept the dress but I wasn't aware that I still had the pattern until I was looking through my " knitting stuff " today.  I must admit that my  tension  was never very good - I always knitted too loose.    Thanks to laurie54 for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 15,328

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.