Fradley Junction

This is where the Coventry Canal joins the Trent and Mersey Canal. It’s only minutes from my favourite fruit farm shop and very close to my home. For some crazy reason, I’ve not been here for well over 25 years !

I think it’s because the focus then was the pub and my brother sometimes moored his narrowboat there after he’d moved out of the house. I’m not even sure we went there much during daylight.

Anyway, I suddenly decided to check it out, as we had another fabulous sunny afternoon.

There’s so much more there now than just the pub. Several cafes. Huge numbers of boats and car park space. A holiday park.

I wandered around surprised and thrilled. I wandered through the Fradley Pool Nature Reserve. There’s a lovely bird hide (extra).

I sat down and opened one of the panels. A kingfisher flew at eye level within a few minutes. I wasn’t ready for that. I hadn’t even got my camera ready. It wasn’t just a flash of blue ; I could see his luscious iridescent feathers.

I stayed for ages, watching, but he didn’t return. But don’t worry. I’ll be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.