A Bahiana.

I was babysitting at my daughter's; it's quite surprising looking round, finding things I thought I'd lost! 

Years ago, this used to belong to my late sister-in-law, who was from Brazil. She was wary of this head, given Bahia's reputation (see below), and put in it the garage. However, she had some difficulty getting pregnant. We rescued the Bahiana from the garage, kept it in a favoured position, and ...hey presto!

Bahia  was an interesting place: As the chief locus of the early Brazilian slave trade, Bahia is considered to possess the greatest and most distinctive African imprint, in terms of culture and customs, in Brazil. These include the Yoruba-derived religious system of Candomblé, the martial art of capoeira, African-derived music such as samba (especially samba's Bahian precursor samba-de-roda), afoxé, and axé, and a cuisine with strong links to western Africa.



The extra is of silk reels from Macclesfield where my daughter used to live in a converted silk mill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.