So Long, Rae!

I knew of her existence only briefly, but I was quite impressed by the activism and the sheer coolness of Rae Joy, our fellow blipper who nursed and fought to protect bears in Vietnam. We lost Rae to illness recently.

THIS AMAZING BLIP is what drew my attention to Rae and her bears.

I, my bear Smokey, and my furry friend Carlo offer our salute to Rae as she steps away from the world.

Behind the boys is an early 20th Century Ravi Varma image, showing Markandeya beseeching Lord Shiva to protect him from Yama (Death, who has a noose on the mortal's neck and rides a buffalo), and Shiva is warning Yama away, brandishing his trident. It is a salvation image. This blip gives it a better capture.

I bought the icon as a student at Bangalore, India about 35 years ago, and in 1991 I gave it to my dear friend Shirley, who was then facing a fatal cancer. The image remained in her home until her husband Jan (also a dear friend) died in 2008, when it returned to me.

When I was 3 or 4 years old, my Mom gave me Smokey, who originally wore a park ranger hat. Mom made him new blue jeans when his factory issue pants fell apart. He still wears a badge that says, "Smokey Ranger/ Prevent Forest Fires." I've never parted with old Smokey in over fifty years. Perhaps I should be buried with him.

Goodbye, Rae! You made this a better world with your love for bears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.