Capital adventures

By marchmont

History day

I walked and walked and walked today, 15 Kms according to phone. It was a great day for walking, overcast and 19 deg, in fact it was drizzly be evening. What a change to yesterday but didn't bode well for Ha Long Bay.

I started with the Long Bien bridge (extra) over the Red River, cantilever and bombed by the US during the Vietnam War. It was a daunting experience. The footpath ran beside the narrow carriageway full of motorbikes coming behind me. I'm not afraid of heights but the handrails are not in good repair and you can see to the ground/river below through the joins in the concrete block pathway. I was same walking out to Sydney Harbour Bridge. But I made it to the main river (not red at all) and it was better going back, facing the traffic. The bridge is only used by trains, bikes and pedestrians note. But like the Forth bridges other traffic goes on the newer bridges.

Then to West Lake and Truc Bach Lake. The pagoda at West Lake was shut and at first I walked past the John McKain memorial over the road. It marks where he was shot down and captured in 1967. I wonder if Trump will visit it next week after what he said about him?

Lunch at Highlands Coffee then to the Hotel Chi Minh 'vestiges' - Presidential Palace and the house where he lived from 1954 (extra) It was very busy with tour groups. The mausoleum shuts at lunchtime. I wouldn't have gone anyway.

After that it was a jaunt via busy roads with mad traffic and an ATM to St Joseph"s Cathedral. Didn't linger long as I had to be back for my 90 minute body and foot massage. Helped my poor put upon feet no end.

It should have been a relaxing evening but I had a notion to book an earlier flight for Monday. Bad idea! Ended up with emails in Vietnamese, amazing help from reception staff and calls to my card companies. How later it seems like I don't have flights (plural!) as no payment was made. Understandably I'm sticking with Plan A.

It was very cool and damp when I finally went out for food well after 8. The Night Market was on but I threaded my way back to Hungry Hanoi. In the circumstances it seemed better to go back to somewhere I knew. At least my feet don't hurt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.