Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Uncle Jesse's NZ Cockle Chowder

Yep, still wearing my red scarf. Still happily wild foraging wherever I go.

In honor of the Thanksgiving holiday I went to collect clams, or cockles as they call them here in NZ. During low tide on the sand flats of Aramoana tens of thousands lie buried just under the sand. So I went out with Aleric and we collected our fill in plastic grocery bags. They make for a fine clam chowder. Here's my recipe. It was so good I was patting myself on the back!

1. Rinse your clams in cold water getting rid of any grit, sand or seaweed.
2. Throw them in a large pot with about two cups of white wine.
3. Heat and cover to steam. Stir so they all open. Discard any that don't.
4. Drain clam juice in a side bowl. Put to the side.
5. Separate the clam meat from clam shells. Put to the side.
6. Brown a few pieces of smoked bacon in a pot with a little water.
7. Add a diced onion, 3 or 4 diced pieces of celery, and 3 or 4 diced carrots. Saute.
8. Pour in clam juice. Add water to dilute to suit yourself.
9. Throw in flour and stir to thicken the chowder.
10. Put in about 4 to 5 medium diced red skin potatoes.
11. Boil and let simmer on low. Throw in your clam meat.
12. Add about a cup of cream. Stir, thicken to taste.
13. Serve hot with french bread.
14. Bon appetito. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.