negihime

By negihime

rubber trees

Di Tu took me to grandma's house today for great-grandpa's death anniversary (yes, that's an occasion here). every time we go to grandma's house for these occasions i always escape into the backyard and disappear into the rubber tree forest to avoid the large gathering of relatives that i don't know about. today was no different. except my uncle recent put up a fence around the property to prevent chickens from escaping. so i climbed the fence.

after the festivities and the awkwardness, we went to visit my grandma in the hospital. and thanks for the festivities, everyone now know grandma's in the hospital and they came to visit in waves. the nurse became irritated and shooed us out.

----------

i find it admirable how completely selfless my family is when my grandma was admitted to the hospital. Di Hai, Di Tu, and Anh Duy are taking turn to sleep in the hospital to watch over my grandma. other people, like Di Ut, who can't stay the night are taking turn to keep watch during the day. Di Ut, Anh Thai, Cau Nam visit every day, if not every other day. not a single word of complaint was heard. and i'm sure that complaints have never even crossed their mind.

my great aunt said that my grandma was blessed to have four daughters, and that daughters are more likely go to that length for their mother. she's concerned about her own old age since she only has two sons. she said she wouldn't have the fortune of having so many people taking care of her like the way my grandma is being taken care of.

i've always known kindness from my mum's side of the family. they're soft-spoken people and rarely known to raise their voice. they take care of their family,distant family, and non-family. although vietnamese don't make the distinction between family and distant family. family is family. i've seen my own parents took in people to take care of just because those people have no where to go. and i know the extend of my family's kindness the way they've been taking care of me and marlan ever since we got here. Di Tu is like a second mom to me, and Di Hai always stopped by to drop off fruits of for us.

sometimes i wonder if i missed out for growing up away from this family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.