Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

On common ground

Went to the local mosque today. It’s the oldest one in Britain and sits just down the road from Woking railway station. Fabulously friendly. TSM got a lesson in how to wrap and hold the hijab and looked gorgeous in it. And we ate pakora and had a long discussion about the similarities and differences of the Abrahamic religions. The main building is tiny but there are much larger prayer rooms and a library.

Hijab is an anagram of bhaji as in onion bhaji. And the Muslim boy name Bajih which means "rejoice". I found that out later whilst googling. Inconsequential but interesting and fun. Which is one way of looking at life if you don’t believe in any god at all.

The rest of the day was fairly typical of a wet Sunday. Bit of domestics, trip into town, lazy family brunch, arguments over politics and far too much washing.

TSM is watching something called Shetland. She showed me scenes on her iPad and said "it’s really bleak, I want to go there". I’m suspicious. Distinctly lacking in vegan coffee shops and hummus as far as I can see. And you get bored with puffin watching quite quickly I reckon. And I’d need convincing about their broadband speeds.

Anyway enough now. People and cats want feeding. And tomorrow is another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.