Carnaval

Still in no mood to go out, and the weather has shifted.  I had to drive to the city centre for an errand, however, and that is when I shot this.  It's one of the Carnaval paintings one can find all over town this time of year.  AW and I do not celebrate it and actually never have.  Some 28-30 years ago, he used to help out at a friend's bar (her husband was too busy enjoying his own stock) and would then dress in appropriate costume, but he would be too busy working to join in the 'fun'.  I joined him at the time and knew that it wasn't for me.  The real celebration will start tomorrow so, right now, every town and village in the provinces of Brabant and Limburg is stocked up to the roof with beer.  For four days, Breda will be known as 'Kielegat'.  The Turfschip you see here is supposed to remind one and all of the boat carrying peat which Dutch soldiers hid in to sneak into the castle some 500 years ago to free the town from Spanish occupation under Philip II.  I suppose that is still a good excuse for celebration, but doesn't have anything to do with Carnaval.

At home, the Tudor MOOC is halfway done.  An exciting course!  I'm learning many new things.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.