Natural Selection Exhibition

A calm morning, and rain, it soon cleared and a mostly sunny day.  A breeze is picking up, and showers come in this evening. 

I've been working on the museum desk all day, and a fairly quiet day in the museum.  I did get a visit from fellow blipper, MsGable.  Always a pleasure having a catchup with her.  Mostly a lazy and quiet evening, some walkies in the rain with Sammy, and then off to work in the pub later.  It was busy last night, a lot of boats in just now.

I met mam at lunchtime, and we headed to see the Natural Selection exhibition on in my old high school.  It was a bit strange going back to school, I hated it there for my 5th year.  After I got over the initial reaction, I relaxed and enjoyed the show.  It was all about birds, and split into two sections.  There was a great display of amazing bird eggs, wonderful colours and sizes.  The other section was on bird nests, the history of the nest and their diversity.  This is the massive bowerbird creation, which isn't actually a nest, more of a stage for a courtship ritual, where the males can show off for a mate.  More than likely exaggerated, but makes a great display.  Note peerie mam in the centre.  Taken in the old Anderson High School, Lerwick.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.