66 years ago

66 years ago today Mum and Dad were married.

10 years ago they were with me in Christchurch and I took them to their favourite cafe for breakfast to celebrate.

6 years ago we celebrated their 60th Diamond Wedding Anniversary. We celebrated too that Mum beat her cancer and made the milestone 60th.

For their 50th Golden Wedding Anniversary they hired a red double decker bus and took friends and family firstly to the Winter Gardens in Auckland's Domain for the entre and then to Mission Bay to pick up fish and chips.

We drove up to Bastion Point and ate them overlooking the Waitamata harbour. Then we slowly cruised back to their home for dessert and more festivities.

At their 25th Silver Wedding Anniversary Mum put on her wedding dress. She hadn't changed at all but the dress was on its last legs.

Growing up they went out for dinner on every anniversary. Every anniversary was acknowledged and celebrated.

I miss my parents.

I'm a few days behind with posting my blips but I didn't want to back blip this one.

Today's gratitude: For the memories and legacy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.