Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Dreich

I think the title says it all...

But I did venture out, Brew Dog had an "Equity for Punks" event on this afternoon at which they gave an update of the past year and told us about the plans they have for next year (more expansion including possibly 4 international bars. ).

They also gave us a chance to try their new beers: "Nuns with Guns" (a 4.2% dry hopped lager), "Jack Hammer" (a 7.2% very bitter pale ale) and "Cocoa Psycho" (a 10% Imperial Stout). They are "prototyping" these beers and one will be voted as a permanent addition to their range (read more about them on their Blog). A show of hands in the bar suggested the "Cocoa Pyscho" was most popular, it was certainly my favourite a lovely strong stout flavoured with coffee, chocolate, vanilla and oak! YUM!

We also got to try the first ever "Punk IPA" brewed at their new brewery, James pointed out that they did not have their new centrifuge up and running yet so it was not quite the final product (if I understand correctly the centrifuge will be used to filter/clear the beer) but it did taste pretty good. And finally we got a glass of "Hoppy Christmas" their festive 4.2% IPA.

I also got an "extra" "Cocoa Pyscho" that was left over by one of the bar staff and then another customer gave me their glass of "Cocoa Pyscho" into which he had added his wife's glass (it's was served in 1/3 of a pint).

After all that I had a glass of "Paradox : Isle of Arran" which is a 15% Imperial stout aged in barrels from the Isle of Arran distillery. Quite a bit more booze than I intended!

The photo was taken on my way TO the event with my phone from the upstairs front seat of the 35 bus heading up the Royal Mile, you can just make out through the rain the Tron Kirk and St. Giles Cathedral behind it on the left.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.