La mammarazza

By MarieNoelle

This is going to be dinner ...

... simply roast in the oven with an onion in its cavity. It's also a homage to my Mum, who used to produce what I realise now was delicious oven-baked John Dory, although as a child I was ungrateful enough to dislike it.

According to Alan Davidson who wrote fantastically well about fish, John Dory is so named for a range of possible reasons, none 100% reliable. One is that the French called it 'dorée' (golden, because of its colour) although as a French native, I myself have never heard that name. Davidson says that the more common French name is Saint Pierre, which I certainly have heard. Meanwhile a 'daurade' (sounds a bit like 'dorée') is, again according to A.D., a gilt-head bream. Names of fish do tend to do one's head in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.