Malham

I can’t believe I haven’t been back here since my A’level geography field trip!

My plans to go south for more sorting have been put on hold because I need to arrange some welding to get the van through it’s MOT. So today I did some chores and went to post the work I did yesterday to my course supervisor. It was so gorgeous and suddenly, feeling a huge relief of not being on the treadmill, I decided on a whim to head for Malham. I was naive enough to think it would be quiet but it probably was compared to most other times. What a day for it!

As a youngster, it was the first time I’d seen proper hills (Box Hill was the nearest I’d got to a hill back then), the perilous steep road from Giggleswick station, hemmed in by stone walls on both sides, took my breath away and put my stomach in my mouth as the centre minibus climbed confidently to the tarn. I had no idea that this country had such scenery.

I walked from the Tarn to the Cove and then round to Janet’s Foss and Gordale Scar and steadily left other folk behind and didn’t see a soul for the long stretch back via Mastiles Lane and the remote wind swept moor top site of a Roman marching camp. https://historicengland.org.uk/listing/the-list/list-entry/1008777

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.