Blush response

By Esper

"Just put your feet down, child......

...... because you're all grown up now." (Kate Bush, "The Fog.")

A rather uninspiring image today but one that perfectly encapsulates my thoughts and mood. As if the harrowing news from Newton were not enough to send one into the deepest Pit of Despond, this morning I read that Wesboro Church has announced that it will picket the funeral service of the victims because "God Sent the Shooter" because "God Hates Fags." The reasoning (?) behind this is that same sex marriage was legalised recently in Connecticut. If that doesn't just make you want to give up on the sick race of beings who are supposedly the custodians of this planet, what does?

However, as I was waxing the floor after cleaning the windows, I looked up and saw the daylight outside. I pictured Valerie and Arthur returning from school. The clear perspective through the windows made me realise that we cannot allow the sick people of the world to plunge us into despair. There are millions of good people, close and not so close, who need us to be strong and continue to nurture the optimistic belief that one day we will create a world in which the terrible things which abound today will be merely curious footnotes in history books.

Now, if you will excuse me, there is a beautiful, crisp day out there and I want to run in it before I help the kids put up the Christmas decorations.

Kate Bush - The Morning Fog

The light
Begin to bleed,
Begin to breathe,
Begin to speak
D'you know what?
I love you better now.
I am falling
Like a stone,
Like a storm
Being born again
Into the sweet morning fog.
D'you know what?
I love you better now.
I am falling
And I'd love to hold you now,
I'll kiss the ground
I'll tell my mother
I'll tell my father
I'll tell my loved one
I'll tell my brothers
How much I love them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.