Thepainterswife

By Thepainterswife

Thursday

I haven’t blipped for a while.

The shooting tragedy here in Christchurch has really made me sad.
Just can’t get my head around it, particularly the loss of young children.

There are continuing memorials happening here and around New Zealand.
I hear that Cat Stevens ( as he was known) will be here in town for tomorrow’s National  Remembrance event..
There are expected to be huge crowds in Hagley Park for this .

On my way to work today I was driving to a clients home who lives very near the cemetery where the burials have been held and noticed a small group of people standing around one grave site, obviously family /friends of a victim of the shootings. It struck me as the saddest image, out of every thing I have seen lately. The area there has been heavily guarded by armed Police and security, roads blocked off etc. A no go zone for the general public while the burials were taking place. They have all gone now, and so it is seemingly back to normal on those streets. But seeing this family standing there really hit me, the huge sadness of it all.
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.