Moss and lichen

After a trip to the Chocolate Shop for some Easter purchases and the first ice creams of the year - well, it was sunny - we went over to Wet Sleddale for a little wander. 

Yesterday there was some talk on Blip about Lichen. I was interested, but I doubt I will ever understand how lichen lives or how to tell one kind from another. However, it did make me look more carefully around a bit of woodland that has always fascinated me, as it is set in the middle of moorland. Lots of lichen on rocks and trees and I assume many different kinds, but I could not begin to try identifying. Perhaps it's just good enough that I noticed. I love this bit of old stone wall covered in moss and lichen and today the sun caught it and brought out the colours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.