Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Waterloo sunset

Unusually for me I was not happy on the journey into London. I was free of work, the sun was out, I was headed for an old colleague’s retirement do in a pub just off the Waterloo Road and I had not one but two cameras with me. But I was not in a good place and I couldn’t work out why. My morning’s work had been productive. I had sorted a couple of nagging domestic issues. Instructions had been concluded for the roofer to begin work on our guttering and flaky paintwork. There had been a bit of firefighting to do which was at least a change from routine. Pants monster was a little grumpy and giving me some pain but I’ve ‘ad worse as they say.

I concluded that sometimes a good thing isn’t necessarily the right thing. I stopped for a beer on The South Bank and started to write and realised that what I wanted, more than anything, was to be curled up on the settee with TSM. This is where writing is so therapeutic, like counselling without the fees, soul searching without the vulnerability, cooking without the washing up. Okay maybe not the last of those.

The good news is that TSM has started her nine day fortnight regime which basically means we get every other Monday together. I am so happy about this.

On the beer front, found a nice little bottled IPA called Lawless Village, brewed in Edinburgh.  Not only vegan but gluten free, it seems to be the real deal rather than a fake brand invented by a big brewery marketing guru as a Trojan horse for the craft beer movement.

Stunning sunset on Waterloo Bridge. I was in awe. The people were so sharply silhouetted against the sky and the clouds were like something out of The Great Day Of His Wrath.

The retirement bash was actually very sociable and I stayed longer than I had planned. Partly because Mr C, the retiree, is good company but also because there were some nice people  there and I got to meet a fellow vegan.

Little extra of Mr C and me looking mean. Which we’re not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.