meayrs

By meayrs

Fall

I fell off my bike today. One of my shoelaces had come undone and got wound up in the pedal hub, throwing me ingloriously onto Upper Brook Street, Manchester. It was really quite amusing as I was pinned down by the bike in a position that prevented me reaching the unfortunate shoe and foot. Help was at hand, however, in the form of a passing motorist, who lifted the bike off me and helped me regain my composure.
You will be glad to hear [well, I was] that despite crashing to the ground with a resounding thump I was otherwise unharmed. But, and now we come to the good part of the story, the bump was substantial enough to activate the ‘Fall’ function on my Apple Watch.
Which proceeded to beep, informing me that I had suffered a fall (which I kind of knew) and asking me to confirm that I was alright. To which I agreed that I was fine, and the watch and I got on with our business. Had I not done so it would, within a few minutes, initiated emergency procedures. 
I quote: “If your Apple Watch detects that you're moving, it waits for you to respond to the alert and won't automatically call emergency services. If your watch detects that you have been immobile for about a minute, it will make the call automatically. After the call ends, your watch sends a message to your emergency contacts with your location letting them know that your watch detected a hard fall and dialed emergency services. Your watch gets your emergency contacts from your Medical ID”. 
Sometimes tech is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.