People on a Bridge

By zerohour

The Unbearable Whiteness of Being

Four years ago, HD split a few large azaleas which are growing in our front yard, and attempted to plant the small offshoots in the back yard, by the porch. Because of our then-destructive pups, only one baby azalea survived. This spring, this one little shrub is victoriously weighted down by a dense mess of huge white flowers.

This view made me smile a tiny bit, as it parallels my life. Self-replanted from my past professional path, I endured a self-imposed hell of a six years to finish my graduate program. I climbed this mountain, and for 3 months now I am standing on the top and wondering: "now friggin' what???"

As my back yard suggests, now apparently is the time to keep going at it and bloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.