Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Dwarf Holly Flowers

The frst day of British Summer Time, and it's freezing outside. The weather is clear, and there is an easterly breeze.. I head out to Gilmerton, then Dalkeith. East Lothian seems to be a good idea, but the breeze is stronger than anticipated, and climbing out of Dalkeith, is quite a struggle.

I head up to Fordel Mains, and on to some new tarmac taking me downto the Pencaitland road and Humbie B road. I turn off the B road to head for West Saltoun and East Saltoun, where I take the B6355 to Gifford. Time to head downhill, after a quick climb up Broun's Hill. The wind is a North Easterly, so there's not much of an advantage n the downhill parts,and a bit of a bind on the climb past Lennoxlove. The last descent in to Haddington is ok.

Then it's on to the Aberlady Road, which climbs out of Haddington over the Garlton Hills. At the top, the road becomes the Haddington Road, and heads down to Ballencrieff. It's over the roundabout, on towards Aberlady. Insteadof heading in to the village, I turn right on to Avenue Rd.

To head west, I turn left on to the coast road, the cycling is quite fast. It's nice being blown back to Edinburgh through Aberlady, Port Seton and Cockenzie and Prestonpans, where I get overtaken by a couple of cyclists. Once through Musselburgh, it's home via Milton Road East, the Innocent Cycle Path, through Grange and South Morningside.

No ride photos this time. The route of the ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon, it's down to Out of the Blue to see what the Cycle Fair is like. Not as good as I wanted it to be. Ah well, it's just a hunch. Not enough bike shops. There are some interesting bikes t view, and a couple of stalls selling cycle related t-shirts / merchandise (and the Spokes stall). Afternoon coffee and snack at Starbucks on Leith walk, before heading home. In the garden, I was surprised by the small flowers on the dwarf holly in the front garden.

Would say it was a quiet evening, but I have seven shirts to iron. Another quick day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.