Nuthatch on the chimney pot

Today's the day ………………….. to knock yourself out

It was when Tessa was helping me today, to fill up the bird feeders in the garden, that she noticed a bird lying on the ground.  It did look dead - and it was easy to work out what had happened.  It had flown into one of the glass panes of the conservatory and had knocked itself out. 

We didn't linger long, because Tessa was upset to see it lying there.  It was particularly sad because I could see that it was a nuthatch - one of our favourite garden birds.  I told Will about it and we went back to where it was lying so he could discretely remove it.  Except when we got there, there was no bird to be seen - no dead body to bury. 

Now it could be a completely different bird, but I did hear this one noisily singing on a chimney pot, later on this afternoon.  And it does look to be a slightly damaged nuthatch. 

Mmmmm - I wonder ……………..  ?!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.