All things me

By KatiePie

Xmas concert

It was Little One's turn this week. As she's KS2 we go to the local church for a concert. It was lovely. It's a beautiful church next to Corsham Court.
We had peacocks watching us queue in the rain.
We are so so lucky to live where we do. There are downsides and we always have a bit of a "woooooah" moment when we hit civilisation but its so lovely here. After 6 years it really does feel like home.
Oh sorry, I'm going to pontificate. Hadn't seen that coming...
We sat in the church and one of Little One's friends was in the choir rock group. I cried. Not just those teary "awwww" wipe away the mascara ones. Proper, grab Mr KP's hand and try to get a grip ones.
Firstly the song was lovely, but secondly she's growing up so fast. It's easier to see in other people's children. She looked very much like her beautiful older sister and not at all like the cuddly gorgeous preschooler I first knew her as.
To be fair she might as well have been singing "slipping through my fingers" from Mamma Mia, the effect it had on me.
It also made me realise how settled we are here. Not just with the place itself but with circles of friends that we've formed.
It was interesting sitting in a church with those people. It's not a church school so it's not something we've done before. We don't go to weddings together because we're all married. We don't have babies being christened. There are few regular churchgoers amongst us. The only times we are likely to find ourselves in a church together are for school Christmas things or for, God forbid, funerals.
It's not a nice thought, but one I'm likely to have more and more in the next few years. I have friends the age my Dad was when he died and I'm steadily approaching it.
It would have been his 65th (I think) birthday on Christmas Eve.
Time flies.

Sorry, that sounds a bit morbid.
It isn't. Just one of those days that prompted a lot of memories.

Ha ha ha.. I nearly blipped a photo of my foot and the dog's paw in a load of mud earlier. I am sooooo over the flipping muddy dog walks.
Anyway. It left me singing this as I was walking home.
Also made me think of Dad. Not sure why. Don't know if he sang it or if I'm confusing childhood memories and I learned it at school.
Minds play games after a while.

Anyway, despite how all of that sounds, I'm finally feeling a bit festive. Hoorah!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.