Bob20

By Bob20

Pagan offerings (Winter Solstice)

It is the winter solstice today and as I have already put up a blip about Druids and pagans, I thought this photo would be appropriate today. I am on my way to see my mum in her care home and take down Christmas pressies to my family in Surrey. On the way, I pass within 10 minutes walk of the Nine Ladies (19th Dec blip) and quickly took today's shot.

Pagans leave their offerings to their gods in the branches of the trees around the stone circle. These offerings are just a few of the many here. There are many more than were here on Wednesday, so there must have been a lot of activity here already today.

It is worth remembering that these offerings were being made up to 4,000 years ago, centuries before Christianity and the three wise men bringing gifts to Jesus on his birth. Maybe we and our ancestors feel a hidden need to give back?

I hope you enjoyed viewing these pagan gifts, there are probably many more for the summer solstice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.