New default position

Sprite's training is coming along nicely.
When he is called to me he now, rather than sit in front of me, assumes the 'middle' position - between my knees, facing forward.(see extra)
This paid off this morning when, while training loose lead walking in the garden, I stepped through the gate onto the footpath. Unfortunately, two Jack Russells were along the path and came hurtling towards us barking their heads off. Sprite's instinct was to go to meet them and bark too, but I immediately said 'middle' - and he did it! As I had training treats in my hand I continued to feed him while the owners ambled along and passed us then we turned and walked (with a loose lead) along the path in the opposite direction. Very well done, little lad !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.