AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Welcome to America

back blip

Up at 5.45, Edinburgh Airport by 7.15, took off just after 9am and lunch was served at 10am!! I was ready for something, having had breakfast at 6, but curried lentils didn't quite do it for me, however I enjoyed the chocolate brownie and coffee.

The flight was fine, watched a couple of good documentaries on my personal screen, one on Edward Hopper, a favourite artist of mine, and a really good one called 'Searching for Sugar Man' about a 1970s singer called Rodriguez who flopped in the US but became massive in South Africa without his knowledge. Everyone is SA thought he had committed suicide and the documentary makers were trying to find out how and when he actually died, till they found out he was alive and well in Detroit and brought him to Cape Town to do sell-out concerts in the late 1990s. Highly recommend it!

Couple of hours spent at Newark Airport, New Jersey - apparently called the Garden State, according to the name of this diner. I however spent a pleasant hour in a wine bar I found last time I was there, with very comfy seats and a glass of fizz to start my holiday, and read my book. The flight to Rochester was just over an hour in a very small prop plane, arrived at 3.45 US time 8.45pm body clock time. Emotional reunion with Alan, and Kathy when we got home, lots of chat, middle niece Debbie popped in, some dinner, a couple of glasses of wine, and in bed by 8.30!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.