Bridge Open

You can almost tell it's the Monday after the break.  Or not?  As though it didn't mind that it delayed my walk to work ... but I was loads on time anyway.

Indeed ... went to work, worked, went back home.  Here we go again!

Had the second appraisal interview for this schoolyear, which consisted of plans and prognosis for next year.  I repeated my request not to be given any grammar or mentoring classes and the 'bossess' will do her best to 'make it so'.  There was a slightly panicky observation that I'm one of the last to submit marks, but I said that I was getting better at it.  What I didn't bother to say was that 1) I only started getting delayed with it when the new curriculum started, and 2) that I wasn't the only one submitting last.  I am no longer motivated to defend myself for things that aren't urgent, and I am also no longer motivated to make myself get liked more by management.  I told her I wanted to retire in January 2025 and she wondered why I mentioned it this early.  I said it was a target date and helped me focus.  What I did not say was that the countdown has begun and that I think it is a good thing that they are now aware that I'm no longer thinking only of my work.  If she's smart, she'll read between the lines, but I no longer mind if she does not.

In the meantime, AW's Monday bridge is finished with the season, so H and his wife M have left for a short holiday in Greece -- the joys of retirement!  Seriously, though, H has aged since the stroke and admits that he feels as though he went through ten years in one night.  With the Monday tournament done for now, AW was at home distracting me with all kinds of things.

The extra is of the boat that was the reason the bridge had to open.  If you look at the main shot, you'll see it on the right side as it was sailing through.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.