Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Gary

Gary lives in a garage with a friend.  He's trying to save enough of his monthly veteran's pension to afford an apartment, but the $600 per month he receives doesn't add up quickly.  "And my last check was stolen," he told me.  After a recent surgery, Gary, who is 79, has been confined to wheelchair that was donated by a local support agency.  The wheelchair is too small and quite old, which makes it harder for Gary to navigate the streets.  "I don't have the strength to use my arms much, so it's pretty slow going," he said.  

Land of the free because of the brave - I saw that on a bumper sticker recently.  How about a land of compassion for folks like Gary, who served his country and  is now relegated to living in a garage?  Can't we do better?  With the sad state of affairs in Washington, and indeed in my own state of Oregon, I won't hold my breath.  But, I will continue to tell the stories as often as I am able...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.