The Shaggy and the Shorn

It was the annual open house at Rose Hill, a mental health facility outside of Holly, Michigan. They have a barnyard full of animals, and a greenhouse full of plants. Lisa, Merrick, and our neighbor Parker had to drag me away from the sheep.

The sheep stayed in the corner,
knowing it was haircut morn.
The wooly was in, and the cut was out...
it was the shaggy and the shorn.

"Why can't we be like our distant cousins,
the sheep of the Bighorn?
They never have to get haircuts"...
said the shaggy and the shorn.

"Go tell our friends the llamas...
baa it out with a bullhorn!
Tell them to hide from the clippers!"...
said the shaggy and the shorn.

I don't know what you see,
but I think they look forlorn.
I'd like to ask the question...
"Do you like being shaggy or shorn?"

I walked around like a local,
but I really am a farm tinhorn.
I hope the sheep couldn't sense it...
the shaggy and the shorn.

The only complaint of the day?
This year had no popcorn.
I found no one to complain to...
so I griped to the shaggy and shorn.

After a tractor driven hay ride, 
and giving my no-popcorn rants,
we went into the nursery...
and bought 5 tomato plants.

2 shots of the boys in the Extras, one with a miniature horse, and one up in the cab of a fire engine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.