Onion Blooms

There's a name for them, I know.  Should look it up.

A slow day.  Got up late, did some genealogy, had breakfast and tea ... then back to bed because I wanted to finish Never Let Me Go, and I did finish it, too.  I think the next one will be Nocturnes.  Will start on it tomorrow, though.  Never Let Me Go is one of those books that tend to stay with you.  The themes are familiar but the story line is disturbing, especially as you realize that it can actually be really happening.  The message is powerful.  In short, highly recommended.

Later in the afternoon, AW and I went to our favourite DIY chain and bought some laminated flooring for the shed.  We'd been wanting to do that for quite some time, and now that the planks seem to be solidly in place, the next step is ready to be made.

After that, AW decided he wanted to visit his son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren, so off we went.  Mum and daughter were at the swimming pool because Nina wants her second swimming diploma and needs to train for it, Dad and Finn were busy redecorating the front yard.  I left AW there and went to fetch some ice cream.  When I got back, Dad put it in the freezer and I fell asleep on the garden lounger.  Finn saw me and reported the fact to the two men.  He was amazed that I fell asleep just right there.  When Mum and Nina came back, we all had some ice cream.  Mum had a stroke two years ago and lost some of her vision, but was allowed to drive, short trips only, for which she is so so thankful as she doesn't have to depend on Dad all the time.

Weather was gorgeous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.