Cheap cigarettes

Today we went out to a local pub for a Sunday roast (who doesn’t like a Sunday roast, vegan or otherwise?).
 
The pub is the old rebuilt railway station known as Hurn (or Herne or even Heron at one stage).
The pub is full of railway memorabilia and has the original waiting room intact, as well as a station platform complete with Pullman car and shunting engine and this old cigarette machine.
Dispensing cigarettes for 2d and 6d, I tried to date the machine online.
 
The problem with searching online is that one gets distracted, and in true Internet fashion, I wandered around the world.
 
I stumbled on the history of cigar manufacturing in London and found the history, most of which I knew, of my great grandfather and his business break-up with the family empire that eventually became the famous Lyons Corner Houses.
 

These two previous blip entries here  and here touched on that history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.