Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another Not Very Good Idea

The doorbell rang in the middle of the night. This is not unusual, we often get people ringing the wrong bell. I ignored it. It rang again. I looked at the clock. It was not the middle of the night. It was 8.15am. I went to have a look and saw Santa's little helper van (Royal Mail) parked outside. It was a big parcel for moi! I know what it is, as I sent it to myself, but I won't open it till tomorrow. How exciting.

I had another of my Very Silly Ideas. Why not go into town and get an evening blip? On Christmas Eve?? NOT a good idea. I nearly impaled several people with my tripod. On purpose. Even the bus drivers were getting very crabby, and I don't blame them.

I spotted a nice pink house down an alleyway and went to investigate. Lovely wee row of cottages amongst the drab grey buildings. With a nice lamp outside. Might go back at dusk one day.

I came across a young woman trying to look into the big black bin. We said hello. I went to investigate. The bin was padlocked, but each corner of the lid had obviously be forced up at various times. What was in there? The young woman, possibly Polish, was determined to get an item right down on the bottom. I held up the corner as high as I could so that she could push in up to her waist, and managed to grab the item. It was a new, still wrapped, rolled up rug. She was delighted. She offered me a Christmas decoration she'd already salvaged.

I did make me think how lucky I am.

I retired to My Club for some peace and quiet. Unfortunately my visit coincided with the visit of a Very Loud Woman. Everyone else talked quietly, but this woman SHOUTED her trivial stories. They weren't even interesting enough to relate here, so I could forgive her.

I love this swinging-chairs-on-chains-carousel. This shot came out pretty bonkers - just light scribbles. And the manic expression on the snowman's face completes the mood.

I arrived at the bus stop at the same time as the bus! Hooray! There was an altercation, but I was away at the back of the queue and didn't know at the time what it was, but it involved a woman and her son, both of whom had cokes in large cups (with lids). Drinks are not allowed on buses, and there's a sign saying so. And I think the driver had tried to point this out. But they were both on the bus. They got off just before me.

As they got off, the woman said to the driver,
'I don't like you.'

The bus driver said,
'Pardon?'

Again she said, a little louder,
'I don't like you!'

'I beg your pardon?' shouted the driver - she was walking away.

She came back, stuck her head in the door and shouted,
'I DON'T F****** LIKE YOU!'

The passengers looked at each aghast. Not the Christmas spirit at all. I did commiserate with the driver when I stood to get off. I wished him a Merry Christmas. But I think it's the Angry Woman who will be on his mind tonight.

PS: The Life of Pi was AMAZING!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.