Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mundane

I quite like Christmas Eve now. When I was a kid I wasn't so keen: it was just another day to get in the way of Christmas arriving. But nowadays I see that it has all the anticipation of Christmas, without the excessive amounts of food. Mind you tonight after a Mr B roast lamb dinner and possibly more cheese than was wise I am getting a foretaste of how tomorrow will feel.

This morning after an unplanned lie in (I can't seem to stop sleeping these days) I headed down to the shops with Dad for some last minute things. After much rapid shopping, and a long search for Mr B's Christmas Economist, back home to start the wrapping marathon. Some 'help' from the kids made the job fly by in twice the time, but now all the gifts are under the tree, my glass is full of Christmas cheer and the kids are tucked up in bed. They have left water and carrots for the reindeer and whisky and mince pies for Santa. I have even sprinkled dust to try and catch some reindeer footprints. I wonder how long the kids are going to keep persuading me that they believe... If I'm still doing this when they're 20 I hope you'll all set me straight.

The shot is of some photo books from the 40's that my Aunt found in my Uncle's stuff. This is the only decent photo in the book - by which I mean the only one that would get by the blip censors!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.