Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Chase the parcel

Success - I finally got my hands on the parcel containing my mother's present, a few days later than expected but yes I have it.

Royal Mail track and trace meant that I have known what was happening to it every step of the journey or have I ?

I knew it was out for delivery but it never arrived. I knew it had been returned to the delivery office as I was out and had left no safe place information - strange I had a note above the letterbox asking for the parcel to be dropped into my porch via an open window. Also don't they leave a 'Something for you' card when unable to deliver ?

A partial answer was provided by a friendly new neighbour (Chris) - from several streets away who knocked on the door and showed me the card - my parcel had been sent to a wrong address - its not a very wrong address the first part of the street name is the same and 5 characters of the post code are the same but still wrong.

So thanks to Chris I had the card so I went to the office to collect the parcel. But no, back at the Delivery Office they had realised the mistake and it was now back out for delivery to my address.

So I'm out of the house and the parcel is on its way luckily I am told they won't be anywhere near you yet. Hours pass .... Hurrah here comes
my usual friendly postie I rush to the door he is walking towards me with a parcel - but no he about turns and goes next door with it. I give him a shout and he says sorry nothing for you today and adds this is all there is ! - heart sinks.

I quickly tell him the story and off he goes to meet the van in the hope its in there somewhere. Back comes his mate from the van with parcel in hand !!

Hurrah - Thanks the men at Royal Mail.

Hope Mum likes it after all that - to think I could have just gone to a shop and bought it. The stress levels would have been a bit lower the last few days if I had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.