The Picture Taker

By KTS

La Pont D'Avignon

One of the scariest days of my  life!  We spent the day in Avignon and as soon as we got off of the ship, Le Mistral was very evident.  Blowing us along the sidewalk.  We did a guided tour of the Palace of the Popes.  Lots of climbing! The tour did not include La Post D'Avignon, which of course, I had to see.  So we try to follow the signs to the bridge, but the sign is making us climb.  It didn't make sense as the river was down, not up.  As we are trying to make sense of it, some people came and turned the sign around.  Le Mistral!! had turned it! So off to the bridge we go.  There are only four parts (spans?) (I don't know what they are called) left of the bridge.  The rest was destroyed by the water.  So we go out past the first little area and I am about to take a picture of T, when I realize that I am being blown.  Seriously blown.  So I hold onto the railings- look at them-there is not much there- for dear life!  I am thinking that I will just stay there until the wind stops blowing.  Wind was 33 mph gusting to over 50 mph. Scared to death.  Finally it died down a bit and I got out of there.  Too bad there are no pictures...

Backblipped 5/27/19.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.