Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Door, Stenhouse Mansion (Castle? Mill?)

Another day off. A recovery ride in the morning to get the legs moving again. It is a lot brighter,and a lot less rainy than expected. I head out to Gilmerton, then Dalkieth. I take the usual route to East Saltoun via Fordel Mains, West Mains and West Saltoun to East Saltoun. I head toGifford, but halfway there , I head north to Samuelson then west to Pencaitland. to get home from here I cycle the most direct route. Through New Winton, Elphinstone and Dalkeith to Gilmerton and home.

The ride can be seen at Relive here.

in the afternoon, my partner and I go down to the plumbing supplier to choose what we need for out new bathroom being replaced later in the year. Near the showroom is Stenhouse Mansion. the notes for the building show it is also called Stenhouse Mill or Stenhouse Castle. I'm going for Mansion as it doesn't look anything like the latter two. The blip shows the main door. Very ornate decoration above the door. The photo of the building wasn't very good, so I will try to get a better shot sometime.

In the evening, I have to get ready for work. It is only a 2 day working week though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.