Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Do it himself

We had a new roof put on the house while I was away traveling the country.   The firm that Jerry hired to do this was backed up with work so we had to wait about six weeks for them to start the work which only took one day for the crew to do.   In the heat of May instead of early March when the weather was cooler.  

My hubby being who he is decided that he could redo the dormer windows himself instead of paying the people who did the roof to redo them.    So he did...starting last week when the temperatures here rose to the mid 90s and now are close to 100.    Only working in the early morning and late evening for about an hour. He had his plan for what he wanted them to look like but I disagreed as we have a log house and I wanted them to look like the logs instead of some light colored vinyl that was completely out of wack with the coloring of the house.    So he went with my idea of wood siding stained to match the logs...not quite there yet but another coat of stain and aging will help.  He still has the trim work around the windows. 

And today he says " your idea worked really good and looks like it belongs on the house!  "   I knew I was right!   But I did not say "I told you so!".   

In a different event,  the air conditioner for the house died late yesterday afternoon!  Sleeping was okay as the house was fairly cool and we have the ceiling fan even though it only got down to 73F.     So first thing this morning we called our service people who do all our appliances and the hvac unit figuring it would be tomorrow before they showed up, leaving us sweltering in the 100F temps.   We were wrong..they came at 4:30 pm and in half an hour had found the problem and fixed it!   And the price was so reasonable I almost wanted to give them extra!     Yeah for cool air conditioning!!

 It has been a long day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.