In Love with Life

By NikkiVolk

New York City Adventures

They've got cars big as bars, they've got rivers of gold, but the wind goes right through you, it's no place for the old...
Just one week after getting home from Scotland I ventured over to NYC to spend the day with Shane and mosey around a bit before seeing his sister, wee Ethan, and long lost Andy Wala. First Shane and I exchanged Christmas gifts, then took the Subway downtown a bit towards Battery Park because I was so keen on seeing the Irish Hunger Memorial. The first thing we saw out of the subway tunnel was the Freedom tower and ground zero. Twas quite amazing, I felt nostalgia for all the home videos that were shown on the news from 9/11/01, taken in the same streets we walked up and down for about an hour.
When we finally got to the memorial it immediately reminded me of Scotland. The grass, flowers, stone walls, all so lovely. All around the memorial are quotes from famous people and public figures as well as people affected by the famine. And of course from the memorial it was easy to see the scenic (not so clean) Hudson River and Statue of Liberty. Anyways, I could go on and on about all we did for the rest of the day, I got home around 3am and proceeded to sleep like a baby. Can't wait for the next time I venture to the big city!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.