Mr John

By MrJohn

Real life .....

..... imitating art.

Today I've had another cultural/touristy day out in the center of London. I've been to see three photography exhibitons...

1 ) The Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize exhibition at the National Portrait galley.

Some truly stunning photographic portraits taken in the last 12 months, with entries from all over the world. Also there was some great photography in part of the galleries permament collection.

2) The Cartier-Bresson: A Question of Colour exhibition at Somerset House.

An exhibition illustrating how photographers working in Europe and North America have adopted and adapted Cartier-Bresson's 'decisive moment' ethos of photography. As well as 10 Cartier-Bresson photos there is work by 14 other international photographers. An amazingly inspirational exhibition and free to visit.

3) The William Klein / Daido Moriyama exhibition at Tate Modern.

An interesting exhibition of large scale prints by both photographers. Klein's work was more my thing and it felt a bit as though Daido Moriyama's photos needn't have been in the exhibition.

Whilst at Tate modern I also visited the relatively recently opened Tank galleries next to the turbine hall in the basement and spent some time in the tank displaying Russian modernist inspired films by William Kentridge. The work went a bit over my head but I had fun photographing the silhouettes of fellow visitors against the works projected on to the concrete wall, including the chap in the hat here.

As well as all the high brow arty stuff I also had a wander around Trafalgar square, a walk up to the top of the monument to take some snaps and a trip over Tower Bridge. It's very easy to walk around London with a camera in your hand and not look out of place, I spent a fair bit of time photographing tourists photographing tourist attractions ( I even got asked if I could take a few photos of couples ( on their own cameras ). I think there may be a photo project in there somewhere.

Anyhow I'm begining to bore myself typing all this, so if you've managed to read this far I'd like to thank you for taking the time and also for the overwhelming response to my blips over the last few days, it's been unexpected but much appreciated. So today's blip is .....


..... Real life imitating art.


I've put a few more photos from today in a set here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.