Call me old fashioned ...

... but I’m not sure I would like one of those trendy, clear lined, symmetrical gardens that you see everywhere in gardening magazines these days.
Don’t get me wrong, they look nice and inviting ... to people! I’m sure great afternoons and evenings can be had in a garden with decking, rattan furniture, matching pots with identical planting, fake grass, maybe even a cocktail bar!
But I like a garden that is friendly to people and to wildlife. So I have bee and butterfly friendly borders , some uncut lawn, a real lawn with daisies, a vegetable garden, a place where wildflowers run rampant and a fishless pond.
I may not have many dinner parties but I have birds, frogs, badgers and foxes. And countless beasties of which I am not too fond.
I love my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.