In Memory Of Those Who Died

On 21st December 1988 the Clipper Maid Of The Seas was blown out of the sky above Lockerbie.

The cockpit came to rest in a field opposite the church at Tundergarth 3 miles from the town (just beyond this gate).

The following morning saw me at this location along with several collegues.

The church was our base from where we commenced a search to find, document and recover anything from that ill fated flight.

It was the most harrowing and pointless day of my life (for reasons I will not go into here) and chaged me forever.

No1 son started university in Ambleside in the Lake District in 2000 and it was then I found out just how badly I had been affected by that day because I found that I was unable to drive past the town without having to make a detour to the church at Tundergarth, take a walk and cry my eyes out.

It took several years to get to the point where I could drive past.

Today I returned there without feeling a burning 'need' to do so.
I did so because it was close to the date of the event and I wanted to pay my respects.

I went into the small building that has been built to house the books of rememberance and a visitors book.
I made comment in the book and looked out over the graveyard and remembered.
One of the things that came to mind was that I could still go to to within a few feet of where I found six bodies.

Before I left I spoke to a tree surgeon who was working next to the church and obtained a couple of pieces of wood from a tree he had just felled.
I will make something for myself and remember each time I look at whatever I make.
It will help in my long term healing.
I have no idea how the town residents manage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.