Livresse

By Livresse

A mile in my shoes

For refugee week, the Empathy Museum worked with Help Refugees to create A mile in my shoes. When you arrive you are fitted with a pair of shoes and given a set of earphones and, as you walk around, you hear the story of the refugee who owns these shoes. I heard Taban, a Kurdish girl who had to flee Irak and went on to create http://www.thelotusflower.org/ to help displaced women and girls.
Her story was powerful - she was arrested when she was 4 with her mother and grand-parents because her father was a Kurdish freedom fighter, in to the mountains, and also a poet. “As a A Kurd with a pen and a gun he was considered extremely dangerous and was on the most wanted list.“
She was lucky to remain alive - according to some Kurdish sources as many as 182,000 Kurds were killed.

Apologies for my lack of comments - I am struggling for time at the moment but will catch up with your journals eventually!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.