I saw an eagle defecate

(trigger alert) 

Last night my wife woke me up.

I have access to medical care so I was able to take a pill and get back to sleep. I was able to turn off the light so I was able to go back to sleep. I was in a comfortable bed, with sheets and blankets. 

Today I had access to soap at every sink in my house. I used a toothbrush and toothpaste. I had clean clothes to choose from. 

My home is safe. Any lack of sanitariness is my lack as a housekeeper. 

I had to keep myself from crying on my way to the grocery store. 

I feel so helpless. I can't think of anything I can do that would save these children and waiting until the election is too long. Every day is too long. There will be a protest July 12. 

This morning and this afternoon I went to take pictures of the eagles. I didn't get any great pictures of any of them, but I did watch one of them defecate, something I've never seen before. It feels apropos to the atrocities being committed by my country. 

I suppose Germans in Nazi Germany felt helpless. Twenty years ago researchers found that there were over 40,000 ghettos and camps. This was more than anyone had ever imagined. 

"Dr. Dean, a co-researcher, said the findings left no doubt in his mind that many German citizens, despite the frequent claims of ignorance after the war, must have known about the widespread existence of the Nazi camps at the time.
“You literally could not go anywhere in Germany without running into forced labor camps, P.O.W. camps, concentration camps,” he said. “They were everywhere.”"https://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/03/sunday-review/the-holocaust-just-got-more-shocking.html

There is no American who can claim she does not know what we are doing.  Now what? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.